Deconz: is it stable?

After this bug discussion, that is a bug that I’ve been having for quite some months now (it was working fine when I started using deconz) I wrote down some thoughts that I want to share with this community.

I’ve been using deconz for a few years now, and it’s clear to me that these problems (stuff breaking from one version to the other) are going to stay. I don’t think it’s a open source / closed source problem, I think it’s a quality problem: there are no automated tests. Every code change can break anything, and to me this happen often here, and will continue to happen in the future. In software, automated tests are a big investment, and like any investments they require money (= time, here), but also provide quality as return. I don’t think that building a testing infrastructure is something that a random user can come and contribute, but you never know.

There are clearly experienced developers here, but sometimes I find code changes scary. I can see changes on core part of the system without any automated test. Even experienced developers cannot predict all of the consequences of core code changes in complex software systems. And that’s why automated tests exist and help. I think the philosophy here is “do code change, check if it works locally, throw a version out there and see if people complain”. To me this does not scale because you upset your users in the long run.

Take these as superficial comments, I don’t know enough the deconz code base to know if a testing infrastructure would be the best thing to do to increase quality - but I am an experienced developer to know that this is usually the case in software.

As an example, if the problem manup is describing here is confirmed, to me that seems a common type of issue that a simple unit test would have caught. Then devil is in the details, and I don’t know how many changes you’d need to do to make DDF unit testable (…but I would have built them testable from the start).