Question for understanding ZigBee behaviour

Hi there, I’m fairly new to ZigBee business, but not to home automation.

Since several years I am automating my house step by step using openHAB, by EnOcean rocker switches and actuators, AVM Fritz DECT devices (radiator valves) and also Shelly actuators.

Now we got a couple of days ago new IKEA lighting for the kitchen, TRADFRI Driver 30W & Styrbar remote control. Installation was pretty fast, lighting worked very soon controlled directly by Styrbar. Then the question how to integrate into openHAB, brought up the need of a ZigBee bridge/gateway, strange enough. I decided to go for a german product, RaspBee II to run on a Raspberry Pi 2 I still had lying around.

So, I need to find out the need to reset TRADFRI and basically Styrbar, being teached then into Phoscon, defining from there switching events between Styrbar and Tradfri.

Now if the ZigBee bridge, in my case Phoscon, is not available it looks like cannot switch TRADFRI, neither from Styrbar and also not from openHAB. That goes contrary to all my efforts, as all other actuators, switches and devices are able to be controlled manually, even if home automation completely fails. Yes, my automation rules also don’t work anymore, but I can control any light or radiator valve manually in worse case.

Is there a way to have Styrbar or any other solution to switch Tradfri, even the ZigBee bridge/gateway failed?

Thanks in advance.

Regards

You have to create a binding using the Bind Dropbox in the deCONZ gui.

1 Like

So, parallel to the switching event definition in Phoscon App? Or is it either or?

You don’t need the Button configuration anymore for standard on/off switching and dimming. I just use bindings for all lights and blinds.

1 Like

Yes, sounds like the solution, great.

But just a handling question, I can see the binding dropbox, telling me drop source resp. target, but how to do?